most recent

diaryland

past entries

guests

e-mail

d-ring mothaload



wanna leave me a note?

holla if you hear me!

pop some popcorn, it's movie time
the royal tenenbaums
ghost world
lost in translation
e.t.
donnie darko

cds glued in my cd player
the shins::chutes too narrow
grandaddy::sumday
outkast::speakerboxxx/ the love below
blondie::parallel lines
iggy & the stooges::raw power

let's cozy up with a good book
32 stories
secret history
pride & prejudice
sputnik sweetheart
same difference & other stories

bored with my shit? check out these sites
aloha
counting crows
dc4c
delia's
m. doughty
hello kitty
kempa
kith
kubbes
matador
modest mouse
polyvinyl
radiohead
rainer maria
red hot chili peppers
sigur ros
sloan
small stories
stinkweeds
=w=
webmonkey

read all about it!
witch-baby
stomper4x4
jrjunebug
fanmail
j-ku
crzyjessie

BHA and a Typical Summer Night in Madison Heights

2001-08-15::12:26 a.m.

Hey. So, last night Katie and I went to see her boyfriend Jacob's band, Crush, Kill, Destroy, play at the BHA Hall in Hamtramck. That was an adventure. The show got moved at the last minute, and I don't know if that is the reason, or if maybe because it was in Hamtramck, but there were only about twenty-five people there, including the members of each of the four bands. Only five of us were female. The bands were really not good. Except for Jacob's, that is. Crush, Kill, Destroy, is pretty excellent. Our friend Jenny once compared them to Hum, and I think that was a pretty safe comparison for her to make. I wish, however, that Katie would not have told me that her boyfriend makes sex faces when he plays, because I had a hard time watching him play after she shared that info. I just want to say that I really don't know how they ended up on the bill with those other bands, who were far inferior to them. Another thing, the boys in the other bands were younger than Jacob's band, not by a lot, Katie guessed by an average of about 4 years, but 4 years makes a bigger difference than one would expect. The kids were just ridiculously annoying, and the fact that they had all been drinking a bit didn't help the situation any. I observed that as they drank more, they became increasingly more touchy-feely and violent. Katie thinks this hypothesis may go for all men in general, but this group was a particularly rowdy bunch. There were about ten boys on the dance floor/mosh pit area, about half of which were just standing there like zombies, their mouths agape, eyes glazed, nodding there heads in rhythm with the music, but otherwise showing no other signs of life. The other half made up for what these boys were lacking by jumping around like fucking idiots and trying to wow everyone with asinine little stunts. There was a boy tottering atop another boy's shoulders, and some fuckhead who decided to pull a giant garbage can out of the corner and center it in front of the stage. What he intended to use the can for, I still don't know, but there were brief periods of time in which he dry-humped it, bitch-slapped it to the rhythm of the music, played with the garbage in it, and danced around it in a circle while imitating driving a car. Someone please explain to me what makes boys act so lame. Do they think they are entertaining? Funny? Impressing others with their stupidity? Was it the alcohol? I don't know, perhaps a combination of all four factors? Oh, and in case I forgot to mention it, three of the rowdier boys were in the first band. One, the fuckhead who pulled out the garbage can, was the drummer. One, was a vocalist/guitarist, who, during their entire set, felt he had to entertain the audience by contorting his face into some of the ugliest expressions I have ever seen. The third member was also a vocalist/guitarist who looked like a cross between Carrot-Top and a boy I used to go to school with, Dan Schmatz. He insisted on wearing this Kinko's apron with no shirt throughout the set. I don't know what kind of look he was going for, but he was enough to almost make me puke. It came to a point where I couldn't even watch them while they played. The second band of the evening was a bit better musically, and included a boy Katie decided was my boyfriend. Basically, this boy took himself way too seriously. He had this crazy hair that you could tell he had spent an hour on that morning, just to achieve the "I-just-rolled-out-of-bed-a-half-hour-ago-and-barely-made-it-in-time-for-our-set" look. Also, before he could play, he had to change out of his t-shirt, and into a button-down shirt and tie? What the fuck is up with that? Who was he trying to impress? Oh wait, I know who he was trying to impress, it was the girl sitting next to me, the one who within the first five minutes of the show managed to slosh dirty ashtray water on me. That's the one. And it was so obvious that she was only there to see him. She looked so out of place, all dolled up in a skirt, and flowered fitted tee, high-heeled sandals, holding a forty in a brown paper bag. After the second band's set, she rushed up to my "boyfriend," and Katie and I decided to vocalize what her body language was trying so desperately to convey. This was it basically: "You could so fuck me. My coochie (sp?) will totally let you in." So yeah, then Crush, Kill, Destroy took the stage. That's when Brian, the unintentional asshole of the band, alienated the band from the audience by making a comment to the effect of, "I don't think about when I was in high school much, but right now I really feel like I am back in high school." These were not his exact words, but something to that effect, and perhaps Katie will read this and will remember better how he worded it, so I can quote him more accurately. Anyway, Crush, Kill, Destroy was great, and after they were through we really felt no reason to stay for the fourth band, although there was a boy in that band, named Ted, who I remember seeing at a number of the plethora of ska/punk shows I attended my junior year, who I was kinda curious to see perform. But my curiosity was not strong enough that I felt the need to object to Katie's suggestion to leave early, so we hightailed it out of there.

That was last night. Tonight I got together with my friend Kelly, who came over to check out the cd Adam sent me. From there we ended up eating with my family, and then "window shopping," at Target cause 1) We are poor, and 2) Target has a ton of cool shit. Especially of ineterst was this line of stuff for dorm rooms. Kelly went to Wayne, and I will be attending school there for the rest of my life, so neither one of us ever has or will ever need dorm stuff, but we found ourselves completely enthralled with all the cute stuff, and wishing we had gone away to school and lived in a dorm instead of attending a commuter school. We also spent a great deal of time examining the awesome back to school supplies, (Why didn't they have locker beads and magnetic air freshners when I had a locker? I would have been all over that shit.), and the camping gear. See, we are going on this camping trip at the end of August, up at Pictured Rocks, and as it gets nearer, we are getting more excited. Tonight we spent a great deal of time playing around in the tent section of Target where they have these little minature model tents set up to display the different styles. Kelly enjoyed playing with them so much that she actually exclaimed in a voice an octave higher than her usual one, "Cool, I want one of these for my Barbies!" Mind you, I am 21, and Kelly just turned 22. We played in Target until closing time, and then returned to Kelly's where we met up with her boyfriend Matt, and our friend Tom. We spent too much time shitting around with Kelly's computers before talking a walk up to Lamphere Hill. Lamphere Hill is probably the greatest thing Madison Heights has to offer. It is a delight to all during the winter when it becomes a sledding haven, and during the summer is an excellent spot to watch the sunset. From there you get a nice view of the city, which would be cool if you saw a bunch if houses and foresty areas instead of a zillion resturants and stores. Anyway, we chilled up there for awhile, and successfully pursuaded Kelly that rolling down the hill would be against her best interest by convincing her there were condoms and syringes strewn about in the grass just waiting to stick in/on her. The party broke up when Matt told everyone he had to leave because he had to be at work by 5am the next day, so we all walked back to Kelly's and from there returned to our respective homes. Summer, you gotta love it.

previous::next

reading this drivel is bad enough, god help you
if you are crazy enought to join my notify list:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

My Smiths anthem is...'What She Said' My Smiths anthem is... "What She Said"
Snarl, cynic, snarl! Your philosophy and intellect seem to have gotten the best of you, and you seem to like it so far (at least outwardly). People? Who needs people when you have books and mountains of rationalization? Consider whether your bad luck in life may be the result of a matching mountain of self-pity, and try something new for a change (or someone new...)
"What She Said" is from Meat Is Murder.

Take the What Is Your Smiths Anthem? Test