most recent

diaryland

past entries

guests

e-mail

d-ring mothaload



wanna leave me a note?

holla if you hear me!

pop some popcorn, it's movie time
the royal tenenbaums
ghost world
lost in translation
e.t.
donnie darko

cds glued in my cd player
the shins::chutes too narrow
grandaddy::sumday
outkast::speakerboxxx/ the love below
blondie::parallel lines
iggy & the stooges::raw power

let's cozy up with a good book
32 stories
secret history
pride & prejudice
sputnik sweetheart
same difference & other stories

bored with my shit? check out these sites
aloha
counting crows
dc4c
delia's
m. doughty
hello kitty
kempa
kith
kubbes
matador
modest mouse
polyvinyl
radiohead
rainer maria
red hot chili peppers
sigur ros
sloan
small stories
stinkweeds
=w=
webmonkey

read all about it!
witch-baby
stomper4x4
jrjunebug
fanmail
j-ku
crzyjessie

The Weekend Update

2004-06-16::10:39 p.m.

God, so I really wish that either something truly spectacular, or something truly spectacularly awful would happen in my life. Why haven't I updated in two months? Well kids, there have been a lack of exciting things going on, and I figure everyone has enough boredom and tedium, (and redundancy), in their own lives, that they don't need to read about how boring my own is. Why am I updating now then? I am ridiculously bored and restless. Like I just want to scream. I remember when I used to be able to think of a hundred thousand things to write about everyday- back in the day when our relationship was just blooming, and diaryland and I couldn't keep our paws off of one another. Well, the honeymoon has been over for some time now, and though we have tried to rekindle the flame, we have failed miserably. Pretty soon we are going to be sleeping in separate beds. It's all too sad.

That being said, I am going to make some attempt at an update now. What can I say? I am still very much in love with diaryland, and not quite ready to let go.

Surprisingly, this weekend wasn't another lame weekend in the string of lame weekends which have become my life now that I am back in Michigan. Oh, I know what you are thinking- like you did so fucking much in Chicago. Everyone knows what a homebody you are- you aren't fooling anyone. Eh, it's true. Maybe I didn't do all that much in Chicago either, but at least there was the possibility of doing things there. Here, I have nothing. School, work, sleep. Rinse. Repeat. And, as I end up with roughly 15 hours (on a good week) at my job, the school and the sleep are monopolizing my time.

However, this weekend was just a bit of a break from the norm. You know, just a little something to break the monotony... Anyway, this weekend was the big archidork convention in Chicago, or the AIA National Convention and Exposition 2004. Being delusional enough to believe that I will one day make it through school and become an actual architect, I decided to take advantage of the student registration rate and attend, (plus it was a good excuse to cut out of work and class to visit Katie). Well, let's just say they had me at hello. I am such an unbelievable geek. My highlight of the first day, which I had to call Steve about first thing, was that during the registration process, I got loaded up with free shit, including, the grand prize, Sketch-up Socks! Seriously, those socks made my fucking year. Since I am notorious for being late, I missed the morning lecture by about a half-hour, so I used my downtime to visit the Art Institute, where I was a little sad to see that Hopper's Nighthawks had been loaned to the Tate for an exhibition. Instead I checked out an exhibit on the Unbuilt Chicago that was kinda cool, and hit my other favorite areas. Then I headed over to the Chicago Architecture Foundation store, where I reached my pinnacle of dorkdom when I purchased both architecture magnets, and a Mies van der Rohe shirt, "Less is More." By this time I had to haul ass back down to the McCormick Center for my afternoon lectures- I'll spare you readers the details- besides, chances are if you are reading, you are a friend, and have heard all you can stomach about the 8 traditional pillars of design and the young architects' awards, anyway. That evening, after a long hard day of learning, I made my way to the Gene Siskel Film Center for a showing of Chinatown, which I can't believe I hadn't seen in the 24 years of my life. That night, it was off to Margie's with Katie for the greatest banana splits in the world.

It sounds like a crazy whirlwind of activities, no? Well, I managed to keep myself busy. Saturday was no exception. Katie and I awoke bright and early to take in a lovely Wendella Riverboat Tour. We had been worried that it would pour, but it was beautiful out- Katie even got a little sunburned. I proceeded to take a 100+ pictures of buildings whose names and architects I can only vaguely remember now, but that fact hasn't stopped me from showing them to everyone I come into contact with. After the tour, it was back to the lectures for me, rounding out my AIA experience with a lecture on how to succeed in the biz. Then it was back to Katie's for some homade soup- that Katie, she's getting rather domestic, and some late night margaritas!

Sunday came far too quickly. After a hearty breakfast at Leo's with Jen and Katie, it was back to D-town for me. I bid everyone farewell, and spent an hour taping up my car to protect it from the torrential downpours awaiting me on my trip home. Oh, I guess I forgot to mention that part. In addition to the duct taped excuse for a door that I have had to endure, my car has decided that it would much rather live life as a convertible, exposing it's interior to the harsh elements. Rather than shedding it's cumbersome roof, it has decided to just let it leak like a sieve. My dad and I decided to teach the sucker a lesson, and silicone it shut- we'll soon know if that bitch is still leaking.

Ah, so that brings me back to now. Back to the hum-drum life I am leading. Work, Sleep, School. In the grand scheme of things, nothing has really changed much over the course of the year. I am still a lonely, sappy girl, lost in a slew of pathetic crushes, mounting homework, mounting debts, and, recently, flaming allergies. Yeah, it has been decided. Darwin called, and I am not the fittest, therefore I am not meant to survive, and my body is no longer able to fight off the allergens in my environment without the aid of heavy doses of antihistamines and steriods, which, even with, still leave me with unexplainable hives- some even affecting my face! Like I didn't have enough to be self-conscious about, that I need the added stress of worrying about how to hide the swollen eye or lip I may or may not wake up with in the morning. I used to think there was no God. Now I think he is one hell of a bastard practical joker. You wait though, you'll get yours!

previous::next

reading this drivel is bad enough, god help you
if you are crazy enought to join my notify list:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

My Smiths anthem is...'What She Said' My Smiths anthem is... "What She Said"
Snarl, cynic, snarl! Your philosophy and intellect seem to have gotten the best of you, and you seem to like it so far (at least outwardly). People? Who needs people when you have books and mountains of rationalization? Consider whether your bad luck in life may be the result of a matching mountain of self-pity, and try something new for a change (or someone new...)
"What She Said" is from Meat Is Murder.

Take the What Is Your Smiths Anthem? Test