most recent

diaryland

past entries

guests

e-mail

d-ring mothaload



wanna leave me a note?

holla if you hear me!

pop some popcorn, it's movie time
the royal tenenbaums
ghost world
lost in translation
e.t.
donnie darko

cds glued in my cd player
the shins::chutes too narrow
grandaddy::sumday
outkast::speakerboxxx/ the love below
blondie::parallel lines
iggy & the stooges::raw power

let's cozy up with a good book
32 stories
secret history
pride & prejudice
sputnik sweetheart
same difference & other stories

bored with my shit? check out these sites
aloha
counting crows
dc4c
delia's
m. doughty
hello kitty
kempa
kith
kubbes
matador
modest mouse
polyvinyl
radiohead
rainer maria
red hot chili peppers
sigur ros
sloan
small stories
stinkweeds
=w=
webmonkey

read all about it!
witch-baby
stomper4x4
jrjunebug
fanmail
j-ku
crzyjessie

Longest Entry of My Life

2001-08-12::8:52 p.m.

Okay, so a couple of weeks ago I was searching through my bookshelves for a new book to read when I stumbled across Jonathan Livingston Seagull, which was given to me by a friend of mine, David, from school. David was one of the first people I met at Wayne, and he is truly one of the most interesting people I have ever met, so, needless to say, I was really touched when he gave me his copy of the book. Was it just a friendly gesture, or was it part of some elaborate scheme to get my friend Maria in the sack, (you know, do something sweet for a girl's friend, and she is sure to think you are the most adorable boy who ever lived)? It didn't matter what the intention of the gift was, it was still one of the sweetest things a boy has ever done for me. So, running across this book got me reminiscing, and I started to make a mental list of sweet things that boys have done. Including David's book, I came up with three honestly sweet things boys have done or said to me. Here they are, in no particular order-

1) David giving me his copy of Jonathan Livingston Seagull. He also gave me a 45 of his friend's band, but for some reason, the book was more special.

2) A boy came up to me one day when I was working at Borders last summer, and told me I was the most beautiful girl he'd seen in his life. That was it, it wasn't meant to be a pick up line or anything, and aside from waving goodbye to me as he left the store, that was all that happened.

3) My good friend Troy was at an Our Lady Peace concert with me and a bunch of our friends. Afterward, we were waiting in line to get Raine's autograph, and he told me to ask Raine for his sunglasses. I told him to tell Amanda to do it, since historically guys like Amanda and hate me. That's when Troy said, "Raine would give a girl like you his sunglasses, before he would give them to a girl like Amanda." What did Troy mean by that? Probably just that Amanda was annoying, which is true, but, it is the sweetest thing Troy has ever said to me, whether the sweetness was intentional or not.

So, why am I listing all of these things here? Certainly not because I am looking for something to brag about. Nope, that's not it. I wanted to include the list here, because something happened to me Thursday, which blows everything on that list right out of the water. Thursday I was chillin' in my room with my friend Besse when my mom comes in to hand me my mail. In with that bundle of mail, was something I have been anxiously awaiting this whole last month. Faithfull readers may have already guessed what I found amongst the sea of bills and junk mail. If you guessed a response from Adam Kempa, pat yourself on the back, and give yourself a gold star, because you are indeed correct! I received not only a letter, but a mix cd, and whereas I could spill all the details, give a complete song list, scan in the cd booklet decorations, reprint the letter- a girl has to keep some things private. Let's just say that it wasn't a marriage proposal or a promise ring, but it also wasn't a restraining order. His response was sweeter than anything on my list, and makes up for the 21 years of shit I have had to endure from other men. It restores my hope in the idea that there are men out there who are beautiful enough for my friends and I to one day marry, have children with, and grow old with. So, thank you Adam Kempa, not only for your letter and mix cd, but for the much needed boost of my self esteem, and for restoring my hope.

Okay, since I last updated, many other things have happened. I actually tried to update twice between my last entry and today's entry, but both times, just as I was finishing my entry, I was kicked offline and lost everything. Cross your fingers that this will not happen again tonight, or I will have to throw this computer out the window. Let's see, the first thing I had wanted to write about was the Area: One Music Festival. I went with Besse and my brother, and it was excellent. The first band we saw was Rinocerose, who, if you haven't heard of them, you must check out. They were very entertaining, and I am glad we didn't miss them. After that we headed over to the main stage, where I sat through Nelly Furtado, The Roots, and Incubus, in the blistering heat, with my $3.50 bottle of water as my only protection against heat stroke. Finally, after all of that waiting, Outkast took the stage! I have not been so excited about a rap duo since Salt 'N' Peppa. They were excellent. Then, the moment I had been waiting all day for- Moby! He is just amazing in concert. So much energy. I don't think I have danced that hard since maybe the Keller in Munich on Depeche Mode night. After Area: One, the next concert I was looking forward to was Radiohead in Barrie, Ontario. I had very high expectations for this show seeing as their show at the State Theatre in 1997 was at the top of my all time favorite concerts list. Thom and the boys not only met my expectations, they surpassed them. The concert was the best concert I have been to in my life. I was so amazed, I was in some kind of Radiohead coma, and I was so happy I wanted to cry. Katie went as far as to claim that Idioteque was a life-changing experience for her. I don't know if I would go that far, but I definitely loved hearing it live. Other highlights were Exit Music, Talk Show Host, and You and Whose Army?. Radiohead played for about two hours, and even did three encores! I never wanted it to end. If you want to see some great pics of the show, visit Adam's site. After the show, Katie and I spent the night at a hostel in Barrie, before driving to Toronto where we would spend the next two nights. Things went all downhill from there. The hostel we were supposed to stay at downtown overbooked, and so they set us up in some old man's creepy open house 10 miles outside of the downtown area. What Katie and I didn't know was that it was a holiday weekend in Canada, and so the traffic in Toronto was horrendous. It took us an hour to get to the new hostel, and when we pulled up, we should've just turned around and drove back home, because the makeshift hostel was the creepiest place I have ever slept. It made the Hotel Enterprise in London on our senior trip look like a palace. Don't get me wrong, it wasn't dirty, or unsafe, it was just creepy. We stayed in what could only have been the old man's bedroom. There was all of this crazy shit in the room- tons of clothes piled in the closet, weird books, three dressers which were all covered with deodorant, antacids, cologne- you name it, is was in that room. There were also some pictures strewn around, one of the old man with I guess his dead wife, one of him with his much younger lover (Katie guessed she was a wife he imported from Trinidad), and some crazy sketch of him, perhaps drawn by a fellow backpacker? I wish I had the internet know how, so I could totally draw a map to this guy's house, so all of you readers out there would know exactly where it was, and could make sure to avoid ever staying there. I should have a few pics of his place on the film I am getting developed tomorrow, and so, if I ever can figure out how it insert a picture on this page, then maybe I'll add one. So yeah, the place we stayed at was definitely scary, and driving into the downtown area everyday, and then trying to find a place to park, were definitely not fun. Kate and I still managed to have a decent time though. We bought some Sanrio shit and some cool thrift store finds, had some nasty Chinese, (only nasty because we made poor choices on what to order), had some yummy greek food at The Friendly Greek, and went to nice bar, the Velvet Underground, where we were considerably less annoyed by the crowd than we would have been at a similar bar in Windsor, or Detroit even. It was our second bar of the night- our first being Savage Garden, which had promised us goth, industrial, and alternative music. Kate and I were very out of place there. My pink shirt stuck out like a sore thumb among the sea of black. So, we split, and made our way to the second bar, where I fell in lust with the cute bartender, until I saw him jump over the counter to shake his ass to some Limp Bizkit song. That pretty much sums up our adventures in Canada, I guess.

This week has been a busy one, I have been looking for a second job, (I think I am just going to end up going back to Borders, if they'll have me), I got that response from Adam, I spent some time with my other friend Katie before she returned to school, JAlsup got home from her trip out east, last night we had a drunken fun fest in Canada to say good-bye to Besse who moved to Atlanta today, and today I visited with Katie while my parents built a deck in our back yard. My stepdad got some free wood from work, and so all of a sudden our small backyard has acquired a deck that it didn't really need. I guess it's cool though. Tomorrow I am excited, because Katie and I are going to see her boyfriend Jacob's band, Crush, Kill, Destroy, play in Hamtramck. Also, today I got tickets for Kate and I to see Godspeed You Black Emperor! when they come to St. Andrew's at the end of September. Hurry kids, get your tickets now, because this is one show you surely won't want to miss! Wow, I think I got in everything I wanted to say! That, and I cut my nails too short yesterday, so they are starting to hurt from all of this typing. Cheers to anyone who made it through this whole entry without dying of boredom!

previous::next

reading this drivel is bad enough, god help you
if you are crazy enought to join my notify list:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

My Smiths anthem is...'What She Said' My Smiths anthem is... "What She Said"
Snarl, cynic, snarl! Your philosophy and intellect seem to have gotten the best of you, and you seem to like it so far (at least outwardly). People? Who needs people when you have books and mountains of rationalization? Consider whether your bad luck in life may be the result of a matching mountain of self-pity, and try something new for a change (or someone new...)
"What She Said" is from Meat Is Murder.

Take the What Is Your Smiths Anthem? Test