most recent

diaryland

past entries

guests

e-mail

d-ring mothaload



wanna leave me a note?

holla if you hear me!

pop some popcorn, it's movie time
the royal tenenbaums
ghost world
lost in translation
e.t.
donnie darko

cds glued in my cd player
the shins::chutes too narrow
grandaddy::sumday
outkast::speakerboxxx/ the love below
blondie::parallel lines
iggy & the stooges::raw power

let's cozy up with a good book
32 stories
secret history
pride & prejudice
sputnik sweetheart
same difference & other stories

bored with my shit? check out these sites
aloha
counting crows
dc4c
delia's
m. doughty
hello kitty
kempa
kith
kubbes
matador
modest mouse
polyvinyl
radiohead
rainer maria
red hot chili peppers
sigur ros
sloan
small stories
stinkweeds
=w=
webmonkey

read all about it!
witch-baby
stomper4x4
jrjunebug
fanmail
j-ku
crzyjessie

"Oh baby I feel so down..."

2001-11-13::11:00 p.m.

Long time, no see. I hate these fucking sporatic entries. When I finally get a chance to sit down and write, I have a whole novel by the time I am done. Speaking of, remember I told you all I was going to start working on my novel for NaNoWriMo, well, with school and work and all that other jazz, it looks like the novel is never going to happen. Awww, now don't act all disappointed, if you have even half been paying attention to this diary, then you know I am all talk. I make huge, grandiose plans and nothing ever comes of them. You all knew as well as I did that this novel would never happen. Well, maybe one day it will because I think I have some decent ideas, but it certainly isn't going to get started, let alone get completed this month.

So, how has everybody been? What's been going on with everyone? Me? I have been all work, school, research, blah, blah, blah... My life is boring kids. I could take this time to write about how my life is going nowhere, and how all I do is fuck things up for myself, but lord knows there has been enough of that up in here. So yeah, basically nothing new is going on here, I am still having mini-crises like every other day, and I still have the ambition of a slug.

Oh, did I ever write about Death Cab for Cutie? No, I don't think I filled you all in on that one. Yeah, Death Cab came to Detroit on October 20, and Katie, Kelly, and I all decided to attend. The show was great, although I could have done without both of the opening bands. I mean, I guess The Prom is good if you like Ben Folds Five, but I don't, (I'm sorry Kelly, but they were very Ben Foldsesque). And the Red Shirt Brigade, what can I say about the Red Shirt Brigade? Well, they weren't bad necessarily, but they were just not my bag. Death Cab for Cutie was fucking great though. The lead singer, well, I decided that he looks like an angel when his eyes are closed. When they are open he is just your ordinary guy in a band, but when they are closed, he's angelic. I think he knows this because most of the time they are closed while he's singing. One thing you should all know about the show, it was a fucking indie rock hipster parade! Everyone who is anyone in the Detroit indie rock circle was there- Eric Weir, Matt the Prince, and Adam Kempa, just to name a few. God, so yeah, all the pretentious indie rock kids were there, all the girls with their little nubby hairdos, the boys and their sweaters, the Rolling Rock, the messenger bags, the hornrimmed glasses. Ugh, it was sickening, and sadly, there I was, pretending to be cooler than everyone there, but really wishing I was cool enough to be a part of it. Why do you think I rip these kids apart so much? Because I am jealous. I'm not proud of it, I make myself sick.

So, the other night JAls and I went and saw Margaret Cho. It was great, I laughed so hard I cried. JAls mentions most of the highlights in her diary, so check it out to see what you missed. One thing JAls forgot to mention though was the horrible drag queen Margaret had open for her. Oh jesus, I thought I was going to be sick. Don't get me wrong, I don't have anything against drag queens, but I do have something against seeing a person onstage suck food off of another person's toes. Call me crazy, but I didn't find it funny at all. I thought it was just stupid, and predictable, and just lame. Maybe I missed out on something, but really, I don't think I did.

So, did everyone pick up the live Radiohead CD today? I hope so, because it is great. Of course I was super excited to hear Idioteque, but I was especially anxious to hear Like Spinning Plates because they didn't play it at our show, but they did at Jen's, and she has been raving about it ever since. Also, the new Cure collection came out today. I am waiting until Saturday to pick it up, because this weekend is Borders Employee Appreciation weekend, so we get 40% off. That means I am going to be spending Saturday night after my shift running around the store amongst our other shoppers to get my Christmas shopping out of the way, and to pick up a few goodies for myself.

Okay, I am really pissed. Why am I pissed? Here's why. You all know the Strokes right? Those lovely boys from New York that are blowing everyone away? Well, I think this band is the greatest thing that's been invented since sliced bread, and I was so excited to find out a few weeks back that they were coming to Detroit. I waited until my next payday to purchase a ticket, and guess what friends, they were fucking sold out! I mean, I am not surpirsed that they would sell out, they are awesome, and I think they should have sold the venue out, but I think they should have waited for me to get a ticket before they sold the place out. So, I am very unhappy about the whole situation, and I know come Saturday night while I am sitting at home after a long day at work moping about how I didn't get to go to the show there is going to be at least one girl at the show who had no idea before the show who the Strokes were, and, if she recognizes any of the songs, will probably only recognize "Last Nite," because M2 has been playing the video in heavy rotation, and she caught it once while flipping channels. It makes me so sad to think about it. I think from now on ticketmaster should give you a pop quiz when you try to buy tickets to a show to make sure that you are actually a fan of the band, and not just someone who is buying a ticket because you either A) are a scalper, B) have nothing better to do that night, or C) think you might run into someone whose pants you want to get into, and who you are therefore trying to impress by being there. After the fans have all got their tickets, then, and only then, should they turn the surplus over to the general population.

Blah, enough. I am getting tired. Goodnight all.

previous::next

reading this drivel is bad enough, god help you
if you are crazy enought to join my notify list:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

My Smiths anthem is...'What She Said' My Smiths anthem is... "What She Said"
Snarl, cynic, snarl! Your philosophy and intellect seem to have gotten the best of you, and you seem to like it so far (at least outwardly). People? Who needs people when you have books and mountains of rationalization? Consider whether your bad luck in life may be the result of a matching mountain of self-pity, and try something new for a change (or someone new...)
"What She Said" is from Meat Is Murder.

Take the What Is Your Smiths Anthem? Test