most recent

diaryland

past entries

guests

e-mail

d-ring mothaload



wanna leave me a note?

holla if you hear me!

pop some popcorn, it's movie time
the royal tenenbaums
ghost world
lost in translation
e.t.
donnie darko

cds glued in my cd player
the shins::chutes too narrow
grandaddy::sumday
outkast::speakerboxxx/ the love below
blondie::parallel lines
iggy & the stooges::raw power

let's cozy up with a good book
32 stories
secret history
pride & prejudice
sputnik sweetheart
same difference & other stories

bored with my shit? check out these sites
aloha
counting crows
dc4c
delia's
m. doughty
hello kitty
kempa
kith
kubbes
matador
modest mouse
polyvinyl
radiohead
rainer maria
red hot chili peppers
sigur ros
sloan
small stories
stinkweeds
=w=
webmonkey

read all about it!
witch-baby
stomper4x4
jrjunebug
fanmail
j-ku
crzyjessie

Drug Free, So Put the Smack Up!

2004-03-08::12:11 a.m.

Count them my friends, three days of sobriety!!!

But Tina, we had no idea you were an alchy!

Well, I'm not an alcoholic. Sure, I partake in the occassional beer, but definitely no alcoholism here. No, my friends, my drug of choice hasn't been the Wild Turkey, it's been "the caffeine."

My love affair with cola began in early childhood. Pepsi was my family's milk. A staple of our food groups, never to be left off a shopping list. I knew things were getting dangerous around age 13 when, on a visit to my grandmother, I threw-up from what my family deduced to be a lack of caffeine. I was quickly administered my beloved Pepsi, and had an immediate recovery. Rather than cutting back on the cola in an attempt to break my apparent addiction, I began trying harder "drugs." Pepsi was the gateway to many harder-hitting caffeinated sodas, namely Jolt and Mountain Dew. Soon Mountain Dew, once an occassional treat, had taken over the Colas of my past. However, I am not discriminatory in my love of pop, and usually consume both Coke and Mountain Dew daily. Coke at home, Mountain Dew at school as a little "pick me up," which, due to my high level of caffeine consumption over the years, has failed to have any affect on me since early adolescence. My dependence is such that I need this high level of consumption just to remain functional. Without it, headaches and nausea ensue.

As I live alone now, my caffeine consumption has been my own business, and lately I haven't liked what I've seen. There is no reason why a twenty-four year old woman should avoid drinking water as if it would give her the plague, and instead tear through a 12-pack of Coke in three days, (this in additon to the 20 Oz. Mountain Dew or two consumed throughout the typical school day).

So, this background information leads us to the present. This Friday I swore off not just pop, but the "Big C" all together. No coffee, no tea, no frappucinos, no Water Joe. Nothing. Except what I can't avoid, (like that contained in chocolate- I can cut out the pop, the chocolate I am not ready to live without- and really, who wants to live in a world without chocolate? Besides, I don't drink 64+ ounces of chocolate daily, so I don't think it will kill me.). So, back to Friday- I am out of Coke, and even though it is 65 degrees outside in Detroit that day, it is my first day of spring break, and I am determined to not leave my bed for the whole day. I am fine really, until late afternoon, when I start itching for the caffeine- I go so far as to even drink the remains of some watered down Mountain Dew leftover from the night before, but to no avail. My head is pounding, and I feel like dying. This is when it hits me, I have a problem. So, I decide then and there to give it up, cold turkey. I make it through the night, going to bed incredibly early in attempt to sleep off the headache. I awake the next morning, and I am fine, all day, until around 4pm when the headache returns. I struggle through it somehow and make it to today, where I actually begin to see an improvement. Whereas I have a headache again this afternoon, it leaves by this evening, and as of right now, I am feeling fine. However, I would sell my ass on the corner of Cass Ave. for an ice cold Coca-Cola. It's pretty much all I can think about. But, I just keep restraining myself, telling myself I will feel better in the long run. Here's hoping!

previous::next

reading this drivel is bad enough, god help you
if you are crazy enought to join my notify list:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

My Smiths anthem is...'What She Said' My Smiths anthem is... "What She Said"
Snarl, cynic, snarl! Your philosophy and intellect seem to have gotten the best of you, and you seem to like it so far (at least outwardly). People? Who needs people when you have books and mountains of rationalization? Consider whether your bad luck in life may be the result of a matching mountain of self-pity, and try something new for a change (or someone new...)
"What She Said" is from Meat Is Murder.

Take the What Is Your Smiths Anthem? Test