most recent

diaryland

past entries

guests

e-mail

d-ring mothaload



wanna leave me a note?

holla if you hear me!

pop some popcorn, it's movie time
the royal tenenbaums
ghost world
lost in translation
e.t.
donnie darko

cds glued in my cd player
the shins::chutes too narrow
grandaddy::sumday
outkast::speakerboxxx/ the love below
blondie::parallel lines
iggy & the stooges::raw power

let's cozy up with a good book
32 stories
secret history
pride & prejudice
sputnik sweetheart
same difference & other stories

bored with my shit? check out these sites
aloha
counting crows
dc4c
delia's
m. doughty
hello kitty
kempa
kith
kubbes
matador
modest mouse
polyvinyl
radiohead
rainer maria
red hot chili peppers
sigur ros
sloan
small stories
stinkweeds
=w=
webmonkey

read all about it!
witch-baby
stomper4x4
jrjunebug
fanmail
j-ku
crzyjessie

You So Crazy, I Think I Wanna Have Your Baby!

2001-08-23::8:09 a.m.

Hamilton and I were the ones without goals. "Imagine you're a forty-year-old, Richard,"Hamilton said to me around this time, while working as a salesman at a Radio Shack in Lynn Valley, "and suddenly somebody comes up to you saying, 'Hi, I'd like you to meet Kevin. Kevin is eighteen and will be making all of your career decisions for you.' I'd be flipped out. Wouldn't you? But that's what life is all about--some eighten-year-old kid making your big decisions for you that stick for a lifetime." He shuddered.

The above paragraph is an exerpt from Girlfriend in a Coma, and I think it sums up how I am feeling right now. I have been having a major nervous breakdown about my life and where it is headed for the last two weeks, and I have been up for the last two and a half hours doing nothing but worrying. I talked at length with Katie and Kelly about all of these feelings I am having in the car on the way to Alpena this weekend, and I was relieved to know that a) I am not the only one making myself crazy thinking about these things, and b) There is a new book out, Quarterlife Crisis: The Unique Challenges of Life in Your Twenties, which deals with our generation's struggle to deal with these problems. I think I may have to pick this book up, as yet another means of reassurance that I am not crazy. I'll let you know how it goes.

So, Katie, Kelly, and I just made a trip up to Alpena. Why? Because we had to say good-bye to our dear friend, JAlsup, who left Tuesday to continue her academic career at Northern Michigan University. The trip was a quick one- we left Sunday afternoon, and were home by 11:30 Monday evening. Good times were had by all, I think, and I hope that we left JAls with good memories of us, seeing as how we will never see her again! Bye JAls, it's been nice knowin' ya, have a nice life! Who am I kidding? I will be making that ten hour drive up to Marquette a thousand times before the school year is over. Anyway, so JAls is further away now, and I am sad, but there is always e-mail, and lucky for JAls, I enjoy roadtrips, so P&S will live on foreva!

The trip to Alpena was great. We always manage to have a swell time up there. For the trip, Kelly made a roadtrip cd and a back-to-school cd for JAls, and I think the highlights of the trip for me were when we all would sing along to them at the top of our lungs in my car. Call me crazy, but I think our renditions of Oasis' "Wonderwall," the Fresh Prince and DJ Jazzy Jeff's "Summertime", and NKOTB's "Tonight," would have brought tears to the eyes of the bands we covered. Other highlights of the trip include:

***Playing Putt-Putt! I was the winner, with a score of 52, just 5 strokes above par! Mind you, when I visited Alpena at the end of June/beginning of August, I played the same course and had a score in the eighties. My game really improved!

***Eating gross icec ream before our golf game. I was very disappointed with the "Frosty Oasis." They were out of the ice cream flavors that Katie and I both wanted, so we ended up with O-O-Oreo. It didn't taste bad, but it just wasn't what I wanted. Also, we ordered small cones, but the boy behind the counter thought he was doing us a favor by piling on three scoops of ice cream and only charging us the price of a small. This was a disaster- we all ended up with ice cream on on shirts, and Katie even had some on her shoe. Katie and I even ended up scraping some of our excess ice cream in the garbage! We ordered smalls for a reason, dammit! Less is more! Size doesn't matter, right?

***Playing everyone's favorite game, Scary Hide-N-Seek! For those of you who haven't played this game, it's a must! Here's how it works- First, find a friend who is in the beginning stages of moving into a new house so that the house is empty, and the layout is unfamiliar. Second, get a group of your friends to meet at the house late at night. Third, enter the house, do a quick exploration of the rooms, decide on a base to count from (a coat closet you can close yourself in works best), keep in your head a list of possible hiding places and the layout (don't forget the basement, you should practice going down the stairs in the dark!). Five, pick the first person to be "it" using whatever means you choose (Bubblegum, Bubblegum in a dish was the group favorite). Six, turn out all of the lights, have the counter in the closet counting to a hundred, and start hiding! Seven, everyone stays put until they are found, but the first one found is the next one to be "it," so hide good!

***Rock climbing on the beach. I am the klutz of the group, and therefore I am the most likely to break my ankle, so I am always the last to make it across the rocks.

***Eating at JJ's. We had the same waitress that we always do, Jennifer, and she is such a bitch! She's one of those waitresses who act like you are inconveniencing her by asking her for water or ketch-up. She's a waitress! That's her fucking job! Don't roll your eyes at me because I asked for water and you never brought it!

So, Katie mentioned on the ride home Monday night that she needed to get some back-to-school shopping done on Tuesday. Me, I had nothing to do on Tuesday, so I went with her and spent more money that I don't have! It was a marathon shopping day, as we spent nine hours visiting store after store, even driving out the new mall that is 20 miles away to find the perfect back to school gear. Katie found some really cute clothes, read all about it in her diary. Here's what I found- a large gray sleveless top that I somehow can stretch over my 2XL body, two new pairs of shoes (my mom told me not to come home without new ones because my old ones are so horrible looking, so I brought home two pairs- blue suede, and purple glittery sneakers), some hair things, two new rings, lots of bracelets, a new wallet, school supplies, (including an awesome blue corduroy bulletin board that I got for $2.40), and the greatest t-shirt I have ever and will ever own- my Weezer t-shirt. This t-shirt is fucking great. Probably the greatest thing about it is the German flavor of the slogan on the back- Geektanic Weezmacht! After our marathon day of shopping, Katie and I spent our evening, all decked out in our new clothes, at the Groove Room in Royal Oak. To think we thought this place would be full of hipsters and that we wouldn't be cool enough! We couldn't have been more wrong! We were the youngest people there by at least 10 years! So, needless to say, I didn't find my husband there, however, I did find my new best friend there! Years ago, when Katie and I had just turned 18 and would often visit Industry (now, Have a Nice Day Cafe, puke la la) for Homesick Night, we would always see this black woman there, alone, of in her own little world, who danced every song without stopping. I sometimes wondered what ever happened to her when Industry morphed into Have a Nice Day. Well, my wondering is over, I found her at the Groove Room. She was still alone, dancing up a storm, oblivious to the rest of the world around her. This woman amazes me. I can't figure her out. I want to know what the rest of her life is like. I want to know how, with all that dancing, her butt is still so huge. The answers to these questions, I may never know, but at least I don't have to wonder anymore what ever became of her.

Ugh, are you bored of me yet? I am. Only a few more things before I wrap it up. First, Maria came home from Germany Tuesday. I am so happy. I get to see her tonight. We are going to spend hours playing catch-up. Second, I finished Girlfriend in a Coma. I enjoyed it a lot even though I thought the ending was a little weak. Last night I started Cat's Cradle, Vonnegut. I think I may have read it before, perhaps in high school, because parts of it are sounding way familiar. Okay, that's all for now. Go rest your eyes.

previous::next

reading this drivel is bad enough, god help you
if you are crazy enought to join my notify list:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

My Smiths anthem is...'What She Said' My Smiths anthem is... "What She Said"
Snarl, cynic, snarl! Your philosophy and intellect seem to have gotten the best of you, and you seem to like it so far (at least outwardly). People? Who needs people when you have books and mountains of rationalization? Consider whether your bad luck in life may be the result of a matching mountain of self-pity, and try something new for a change (or someone new...)
"What She Said" is from Meat Is Murder.

Take the What Is Your Smiths Anthem? Test