most recent

diaryland

past entries

guests

e-mail

d-ring mothaload



wanna leave me a note?

holla if you hear me!

pop some popcorn, it's movie time
the royal tenenbaums
ghost world
lost in translation
e.t.
donnie darko

cds glued in my cd player
the shins::chutes too narrow
grandaddy::sumday
outkast::speakerboxxx/ the love below
blondie::parallel lines
iggy & the stooges::raw power

let's cozy up with a good book
32 stories
secret history
pride & prejudice
sputnik sweetheart
same difference & other stories

bored with my shit? check out these sites
aloha
counting crows
dc4c
delia's
m. doughty
hello kitty
kempa
kith
kubbes
matador
modest mouse
polyvinyl
radiohead
rainer maria
red hot chili peppers
sigur ros
sloan
small stories
stinkweeds
=w=
webmonkey

read all about it!
witch-baby
stomper4x4
jrjunebug
fanmail
j-ku
crzyjessie

Borders Manifesto

2003-03-12::10:39 a.m.

Hiya! How is everyone? Things are good here. Just listening to some Postal Service, (so cute, I love Ben Gibbard more than he'll ever know) and trying to kill some time before work today.

Work, work, work. It's all I ever talk about. I am so sick of my fucking job! Please, someone, offer to sponsor me. Recognize that I will be a big shot architect someday if only I could finish school, and offer to support me for the next 4, 6, 26 years, or however long it will take for me to get my degree. I just want to concentrate all of my energy into that one endeavor, won't you please help me? Maybe you don't have enough dough to sponsor me, but how about you and 50 of your friends? Take up a collection! Start a fund in my name! I would love you forever.

Seriously though, work makes me want to draw a long hot bath and sharpen my straight razor. Lately all my job consists of is babysitting the crazies and making the bums comfortable while they monopolize all of the three working listening stations in the dungeon known as the music department of the Lincoln Park Borders. We have no customers anymore. No one is buying anything. And I keep getting force fed all of this bullshit about driving sales, how can I do that when all of the "customers" I have are either heavily medicated nut jobs carrying on deep meaningful conversations with the wall in front of them, sometimes alternating between screaming obscenities and hysterically laughing, or drunken hobos who seem to sweat whiskey, for I can smell them clear across the room. They don't buy anything. They come in, get their free sample of coffee, and have a cozy place to escape the whipping wintery winds of Chicago's city streets. The majority of them don't even steal, they just want to get out of the cold. Shit, the government should kick some funds our way for supplying a shelter. Maybe then we could afford to hire another employee. It's really ridiculous how understaffed we are.

I am so sorry for that work rant. But really, it's all I have going on right now. When I'm not working, I am either sleeping or hanging out with the people I work with- so it is really the truth when I say it is all that is going on in my life.

Yesterday was a good example of that. I worked, 7:30 to 3:00pm, then went guitar shopping with Edward, and before you even ask, of course I work with him. Then we had to part ways, as he was off to band practice with another Borders employee, and I was off to a celebration at the local bowling alley for a friend who is finally cutting the Borders apron strings. It is truly disgusting, isn't it?

Guitar shopping yesterday was totally a riot though. I didn't get one yet, Edward suggested I mull over my options a bit before deciding, but really, I can't wait to start learning how to play! Edward's a really excellent guitar player, and I am confident he'll be a good teacher- he was really patient with my speddy self yesterday. We really have to start from scratch, because I know absolutely nothing about guitars, but he seems totally willing to take on the challenge. Who knows? I could become the next Liz Phair. Highly improbable, I know, but a girl can dream, can't she?

Bowling was also a good time. My first game was so awful, I don't think I even broke 50. I think I was just nervous with everyone watching. My second game was much better- 92. I think the beer loosened me up a little. At least I can take comfort in the fact that we were all pretty bad, except for the guys. I don't know what it is with guys and bowling, they are just better. Maybe it is because they have greater forearm strength? I'll let you know after I get the results back from my study.

So, the news is out, I am so over my crush on Paul. I don't know if I even wrote about him in here, I was trying to be careful about not letting it get out. But now that I am over it, I don't care who knows. Yeah, so I had this huge, just enormous, crush on this guy Paul I was working with. It's been going on for months, okay, maybe only three, but that is a quarter of a year! So perhaps not as enormous as some of my past crushes, if you just look at the length of the crush, but what it lacked in length, it more than made up for in intensity. But I am happy to say, I have finally moved on. How, I don't know, I wish I did, because then I could remember it for next time this happens. All I know is, I woke up one day, about two weeks ago, and nothing. We all know life isn't worth living without a crush, so the last couple of weeks I have been a little down in the dumps, but things have changed, I think I have my sights on someone already. I don't want to give too much away in case I decide tomorrow that this whole thing is bad news, because I really don't know him that well yet, but I'll be sure to keep you posted with any updates. I know you'll be waiting on the edge of your seats!

I should be going now. Time to slave away at the aforementioned hell hole. Pray for my soul, because is is slowly being extracted from me each day I am there.

previous::next

reading this drivel is bad enough, god help you
if you are crazy enought to join my notify list:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

My Smiths anthem is...'What She Said' My Smiths anthem is... "What She Said"
Snarl, cynic, snarl! Your philosophy and intellect seem to have gotten the best of you, and you seem to like it so far (at least outwardly). People? Who needs people when you have books and mountains of rationalization? Consider whether your bad luck in life may be the result of a matching mountain of self-pity, and try something new for a change (or someone new...)
"What She Said" is from Meat Is Murder.

Take the What Is Your Smiths Anthem? Test